WTCS President named to Council on Workforce Investment

May 7, 2013

From “Walker names Council on Workforce Investment” — Gov. Scott Walker has named the new membership of the Council on Workforce Investment, a federally mandated panel that will advise Walker and the Department of Workforce Development on the allocation of federal workforce development funds.

The council will be responsible for approving the Workforce Investment Act plan each state is required to create each year. It coordinates the efforts of Wisconsin’s 12 regional workforce investment boards.

“As we look to target substantial investments to develop the workforce and help Wisconsinites successfully pursue family-supporting careers and find true independence, the Council on Workforce Investment will provide valuable input with representatives from business, education, legislative and other key groups,” Walker said.  “My administration’s continued focus on creating jobs will guide the work of the Council as we look to address the skills gap and fill employers’ current and future labor market needs.”

Mary Isbister, president of General Metalworks Corporation in Mequon, will serve as chair of the council. She has experience service on the boards of several organizations, including the Metropolitan Milwaukee Association of Commerce and the Wisconsin Manufacturing Extension Partnership, and was formerly the vice chair of the Council on Workforce Investment.

Mike Laszkiewicz, vice president and general manager of Power Controls at Rockwell Automation, will be vice chair. He is currently the chair of the national Manufacturing Council, which advises the secretary of the U.S. Department of Commerce on manufacturing issues.

Reggie Newson, secretary of the DWD, will serve as executive director.

The other members are:

  • David Brukardt, associate vice president for economic development, University of Wisconsin System, Madison
  • Alan Petelinsek, president and CEO, Power Test Inc., Sussex
  • County Executive Allen Buechel, Fond du Lac County
  • Rep. Warren Petryk, Wisconsin State Assembly, 93rd District
  • Jeffrey Clark, president and CEO, Waukesha Metal Products, Sussex
  • Dawn Pratt, human resources and EEO officer, Payne & Dolan, Fitchburg
  • Morna Foy, president, Wisconsin Technical College System, Madison
  • Mark Reihl, executive director, Wisconsin State Council of Carpenters, Madison
  • Sarit Singhal, president and CEO, Superior Support Resources Inc., Milwaukee
  • Grailing Jones, director of owner/operator small business development, Schneider Finance Inc., Green Bay
  • Howard Teeter, president and managing partner, Anteco Pharma LLC, Lodi
  • Theresa Jones, vice president of diversity and inclusion strategies, Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare, Brookfield
  • Sen. Tom Tiffany, Wisconsin State Senate, 12th District
  • Sen. Julie Lassa, Wisconsin State Senate, 24th District
  • Rep. Robin Vos, Wisconsin State Assembly, 63rd District
  • County Executive Daniel Vrakas, Waukesha County
  • Terrance McGowan, president, International Union of Operating Engineers Local 139, Milwaukee
  • Brian White, president, General Electric-Waukesha Gas Engines, Waukesha
  • Dan Mella, principal, Plymouth High School, Plymouth
  • Wyman Winston, executive director, Wisconsin Housing and Economic Development Authority, Madison
  • David Mitchell, president/COO, Monarch Corp., Milwaukee
  • Rep. Josh Zepnick, Wisconsin State Assembly, 9th District
  • Alan “Kent” Olson, president, Olson Tire and Auto Services Inc., Wausau



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: