Trucker tribute honors father

September 20, 2012

From fox11online.com: “Trucker tribute honors father” — PEMBINE – Jonathon Pierce is climbing aboard for his final exam. The truck driving school student is taking this road test with a heavy heart.

“He’s constantly on my mind, 24/7. I try to focus on my schoolwork, on my studies, but he’s always back there,” said Jonathon.

This class of student drivers usually sticks to the highway and the weigh stations. But for this day, Pierce had a special request.

“He had asked if we could, on our final voyage, go up to Pembine to see his father. We feel honored,” said Charles Nelson, Fox Valley Technical College truck driving instructor.

So Pierce leads the way. He will be a fifth generation trucker. His mind is on his father, who is battling terminal cancer.

“I kind of wish he was better, unfortunately like I said under the circumstances, I don’t think he’s going to be around too much longer,” said Jonathon. “It’s really heartbreaking for me, but it is what it is.”

It’s 110 miles from FVTC’s Grand Chute campus to Pembine. It’s a trip Pierce has made many times before, but today is different.

“Now, he’s going to get to see me riding in a semi today for driving,” Jonathon said.

And as his father stretches to get a glimpse of his son behind the wheel, it’s a reunion that goes beyond words.

“Jonathan always wanted to go trucking with his dad, and I guess this is as close as you’re going to get now,” said Pam Pierce, Jonathan’s mother. “I’m proud of him.”

“I couldn’t think of anywhere I’d rather be right now than right here,” said Jonathon.

“He pulled off one more; I just hope he makes it. It’s a long ways to go,” said Steve Pierce, Jonathon’s father.

A proud father to the end.

“Yeah, I know he is deep down inside, even though he rejected me from doing it for years and years and years. I know he’s happy,” said Jonathon.

The students will have one more road test before graduating on Friday.

As for Jonathon Pierce, he says he already has a job lined up with a trucking company with a terminal in Green Bay.

 

Leave a Reply

